Trey Hutchison Award 2013

Caddo/Bossier Domestic Violence Task Force Honors Officers

2013 Trey Hutchison Awards speakerOctober 11, 2013 — In a ceremony held today at Ernest’s Orleans Restaurant, two local law enforcement officers were honored for their tireless efforts on behalf of domestic violence victims and their families by the Caddo/Bossier Domestic Violence Task Force.

Officer Trey Hutchison
Officer Trey Hutchison

Corporal Shaunda Holmes of the Shreveport Police Department’s Domestic Violence Unit and Deputy Ryan Rhodes of the Bossier Parish Sheriff’s Office received the Trey Hutchison Award. Each year nominees are presented by their respective agencies to be considered for this prestigious award which is given in memory of Bossier City Police Officer Trey Hutchison, who was slain in August 2004 while responding to a 911 domestic violence call.

This annual event publicly recognizes and pays tribute to members of our law enforcement community who, either through investigation, prosecution or legislation, champion justice for domestic violence victims and their families in Caddo and Bossier Parish.

The guest speaker for this year’s banquet was Caddo District Attorney Charles Rex Scott, who, as a devoted advocate for protecting the rights of victims stated, “We are here to pay tribute to not only Officer Hutchison, but to his family as well, for their sacrifice and loss. We cannot forget the men and women who, day after day, put themselves in harms way to protect us, just as Trey did on that day, 9 years ago. We must never stop seeking justice for the victims and their families of domestic violence”.

The Caddo/Bossier Domestic Violence Task Force has on its board of directors, members of area law enforcement agencies, representatives of the Caddo and Bossier District Attorney’s offices, Family Violence Program, Providence House, and other concerned members of our community.

C/B DVTF President Monica Hudson presents Award of Appreciation to Mr. Hudson
C/B DVTF President Monica Hudson presents Award of Appreciation to Mr. Hudson

Past Recipients:

  1. Cpl. Johnny Walker, Shreveport Police Department
    Lt. Lynne Roy, Bossier City Police Department
  2. Det. Nicole McArthur, Bossier Police Department
    Det. Suzanne Gallier, Shreveport Police Department
  3. Lt. John Forcade, Caddo Parish Sheriff’s Office
    Cpl. Lindsay Bonner, Shreveport Police Department
  4. Cpl. Roy Menefee, Shreveport Police Department
    Charles Bridges, Bossier City Police Department
  5. Cpl. Dorothy Brooks, Caddo Parish Sheriff’s Office
    Staycy Doolittle, Shreveport Polce Department
  6. Cpl. John Jackson, Shreveport Police Department
    Det. Karen McDonald, Bossier City Police Department
  7. Cpl. Robert Morman. Shreveport Police Department
    TSgt. Jonathon Walsh, 2nd Security Forces Squadron, Barksdale AFB
  8. Cpl. Meosha Deal, Shreveport Police Department
    Off. Jeff Ross, Bossier City Police Department
  9. Michael Taylor, Shreveport Police Department
    Dep Kacy Gunn, Bossier Parish Sheriff’s Office